Max Lucado 3:16 – The Numbers of Hope: May 15, 2016

“For God so loved the world…”  Love.  We’ve all but worn the word out.  This morning I used love to describe my feelings toward my wife and toward peanut butter.  Far from identical emotions.  I’ve never proposed to a jar of peanut butter (though I have let one sit on my lap during a television show.)  Overuse has defused the word, leaving it with the punch of a butterfly wing.  Biblical options sill retain their starch.  Scripture employs an artillery of terms for love, each one calibrated to reach a different target.

Max Lucado

Leave a Reply

