Max Lucado 3:16 – The Numbers of Hope: July 30, 2016

With wood glue, poles, and newspaper, [my dad and I] fashioned [a kite,] a sky-dancing masterpiece….  We launched our creation on the back of a March wind.  But after some minutes, my kite caught a downdraft and plunged.  I tightened the string, raced in reverse, and did all I could to maintain elevation.  But it was too late.  She Hindenburged earthward.  Envision a red-headed, heartsick twelve-year-old standing over his collapsed kite….  Envision a square-bodied main…[in] coveralls placing his hand on the boy’s shoulder….  [Dad] surveyed the heap of sticks and paper and assured, “It’s OK, we can fix this.”  I believed him.  Why not?  He spoke with authority.

So does Christ.  To all whose lives feel like a crashed kite, he says: “We can fix this.  Let me teach you.”

Max Lucado

Leave a Reply

