Max Lucado 3:16 – The Numbers of Hope: September 2, 2016

[God’s “whoever” policy] also features a “whenever” clause.  Whenever you hear God’s voice, he welcomes your response.  While cleaning my car, I found a restaurant gift certificate…[for] fifty dollars worth of food.  I’d received it for my birthday over a year ago and had misplaced it.  My enthusiasm was short-lived when I saw the expiration date….  I had waited too long.

But you haven’t.  [In the story of the workers in the vineyard (Matthew 20:1-16),] Jesus wove a parable of eleventh-hour grace….  Those last men were surely surprised….  No landlord issues a final-hour invitation, does he?  God does.  No one pays a day’s wage to one-hour workers, does he?  God does….

Deathbed converts and lifelong saints enter heaven by the same gate.

Max Lucado

Leave a Reply

